Marley was dead: to begin with.

8288450497_cf9d2b4b96_h
I do love the Muppet Christmas Carol. I’ll love it when I’m 80.

That is one of my favorite beginnings of all time.  The first time I came across it, I was about 5 years old, watching the Muppet Christmas Carol with my older sister, and it gave me chills.  Charles Dickens knew how to make a beginning that stood the test of time; he is a storyteller that invites, creating a vivid picture in the minds of readers.  I am no Charles Dickens, indeed only one man was, but in my hope for a grand, eloquent welcome, I’ll share with you a beginning that always makes me shiver.

Marley was dead: to begin with.

Affable brabble is the goal of this endeavor.  I want to practice my writing, making time to organize my thoughts even when it seems impossible to find order anywhere.  Affability is a feeling of companionship, and geniality.  Brabble is a stubborn discussion about trivial things.  Is there such a thing as considerate, productive, affable brabble?  I do not know, but I may have been the first to consider that exact wording.

So here is to Charles Dickens, beginnings, modest commitment, and affable brabble in all our future discussions.

Sincerely,

Bettina

Any thoughts?

